Robert Finley Drops New Single “What Goes Around (Comes Around)” From Upcoming Project, BLACK BAYOU

July 5, 2023

Blues legend, Robert Finley, has announced his fourth studio album, Black Bayou which drops in October. The forever swaggerish Finley is one of the few artists who remain true to the blues genre and with his frequent collaborator and producer Dan Auerbach they’re delivering a thundering record that tells Finley’s story of his life in the bayou of Louisiana. Black Bayou is a tour de force of blues, soul, and funk sharing stories from the swamp of Louisiana. On this record Finley tells his timeless tales of surviving love, betrayal, and alligators. The first single is “What Goes Around (Comes Around)” – a swampy rock track that shows off Finley’s smooth-as-whiskey vocals. Watch the accompanying music video, directed by Tim Hardiman, featuring Finley in a larger than life and stylish visual.

If Finley’s previous albums established him as a formidable blues and soul artist – overcoming losing his sight in his 60s to become a music star – Black Bayou reveals Finley as something even more distinctive: a truly original Louisiana storyteller who evokes the place and its unique culture for the rest of the world. Finley doesn’t plan to call any other place home. “I’m not interested in living in no big city,” he says. “There’s good places here for hunting and fishing. I can fall asleep in my yard or sleep out on my porch, and nobody’s gonna bother me. Nothing bad is gonna come and get me.” 

Struggle and celebration commingle in the stories of Black Bayou. In everyday life death looms. Through the jaws of an alligator on “Alligator Bait,” where Finley shares a true tale of his grandfather using him as as bait to catch an alligator when he was a child or just the gradual pace of time, on “Nobody Wants To Be Lonely” a poignant track spotlighting the generation forgotten in nursing homes across the nation. On “Sneakin’ Around” or “Miss Kitty,” Finley’s tales of lust and love are a timeless induction into the canon of the blues tradition. In all, a collection set to establish Finley as perhaps one of the last true bluesmen of our time.



01. Livin’ Out A Suitcase

02. Sneakin’ Around

03. Miss Kitty

04. Waste Of Time

05. Can’t Blame Me For Trying

06. Gospel Blues

07. Nobody Wants To Be Lonely

08. What Goes Around (Comes Around)

09. Lucky Day

10. You Got It (And I Need It)

11. Alligator Bait