now streaming—afropunk mixtape #036: road to joburg

December 7, 2017

With the inaugural AFROPUNK Johannesburg festival just around the corner, all roads lead to Joburg and this month’s mixtape is a celebration of the sounds inspired by this region of the continent and its diaspora. AFROPUNK Mixtape #036 features Okzharp & Manthe Ribane, Black Pantera, Nova Twins, Laura Mvula, Iris Gold, FAKA, Spoek Mathambo, Petite Noir, Talib Kweli, Blitz the Ambassador, Babes Wodumo, Loui Lvndn, Nakhane Touré, and many more, with a special introduction and interlude by Nandi Mngoma!

Still need tickets for AFROPUNK Joburg Dec. 30/31? We got you.

01. Introduction: Nandi Mngoma
02. BLK JKS – Molalatladi
03. Duckwrth – Wake Up! (ft. Troi Irons)
04. Interlude: Ezalkthi Namasiko – Our Values and the Things That Belong To Us
05. DJ Lag – Ice Drop
06. Nova Twins – Mood Swings
07. Okzharp & Manthe Ribane – Maybe This
08. FAKA – Isende Lendlela
09. Interlude: Nandi Mngoma
10. Sun-El Musician – Akanamali (ft. Samthing Soweto)
11. Blitz the Ambassador – Hello Africa
12. Talib Kweli – Travelling Light (ft. Anderson .Paak)
13. Iris Gold – All I Really Know
14. Black Pantera – Prefácio
15. Alaska – Accuse
16. Loui Lvndn – Kill Her Killer
17. Interlude: People vs Patriarchy
18. Babes Wodumo – Wololo (ft. Mampintsha)
19. Distruction Boyz – Omunye (ft. Benny Maverick, Dladla Mshunqisi)
20. Spoek Mathambo – Want Ur Love (ft. Kajama & Fantasma)
21. Interlude: Young Gifted and Grinding
22. Nakhane Touré – The Plague
23. Petite Noir – Down
24. Laura Mvula – Overcome

Cover photo shot by M. Morgan, in Pretoria