premiere: journey through the stages of a breakup in psych-soul band kalu and the electric joint’s “too low to get high”

October 26, 2017
241 Picks

Austin, Texas-based Kalu and the Electric Joint was formed through a meeting of synergies. Frontman Kalu James, who emigrated from Nigeria at age 18, met guitarist Jonathan “JT” Holt while hustling through the city’s music scene, and quickly recognized the beauty of fusing JT’s American soul with Kalu’s West African heritage. Together with percussionist John Speice, the artists created the vision for the band during a residency at Austin’s Continental Club Gallery over the course of three years.

Time Undone, Kalu and the Electric Joint’s forthcoming album, is a culmination of their musical alignment. The lead single from the album, “Too Low To Get High”, is exemplary of their seamless blend, creating a distinct neo-soul-infused sound the band terms “ethno-funk.” Taking on the sadness and bounce-back of a break-up, “Too Low To Get High” is a musical journey that touches the heart while blessing your ears.

“The song is about the roller-coaster of a breakup,” explains Kalu. “First there is sadness and grief. Then you pull yourself up again and reach the final stage, which is reflection of the whole saga. The reflection is a mixed bag of acceptance of fault and, at times, the longing of what was.”

Check out the moving track below!

Photo by Josh Timmermans

Photo by Alexander Koffler (© 2017 Koffler Pictures. All Rights Reserved)

Time Undone Tracklist:
1. Too Low To Get High
2. Time Undone
3. Testify
4. Get It Right
5. Stay
6. Sea Of Life
7. Love Is Good
8. Fighter
9. Place For Fools

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter