kaytranada provided vocals (!) on kendrick lamar’s new album

April 12, 2017

Right in time to get us even more hype for his AFROPUNK Brooklyn 2017 performance, Canadian producer Kaytranada will be joining Kendrick Lamar on his newly announced and wildly anticipated album DAMN (out April 14th)–and he’ll actually be singing!

The producer (singer?!) followed up Kendrick’s artwork reveal for the album this morning with the exciting news that he will be featured on the track “Lust”, produced by DJ Dahi and Soundwave, singing alongside the Toronto-based band BadBadNotGood in a quickly deleted tweet reading, “Nigga Im singing autotune for the first time in a Kendrick Lamar record hahahaaaaaaaaaas”

A tweet by BadBadNotGood confirming the collaboration is still up:

“Singing autotune” isn’t exactly what Kaytranada is known for, but for some reason we can’t imagine this track being anything other than great. The full track list released by Kendrick only confirms features from U2 and Rihanna:

1. Blood
2. DNA
3. Yah
4. Element
5. Feel
6. Loyalty (ft. Rihanna)
7. Pride
8. Humble
9. Lust
10. Love
11. xxx (ft. U2)
12. Fear
13. God
14. Duckworth

*Hari Ziyad is a New York based storyteller and writer for AFROPUNK. They are also the editor-in-chief of RaceBaitR, deputy editor of Black Youth Project, and assistant editor of Vinyl Poetry & Prose. You can follow them on Twitter @hariziyad.