Justin French


It’s Happening Everybody, We’re Getting A New Kelela In 2023:

November 16, 2022

Fresh off the release of “Happy Ending,” Kelela returns today to debut her newest single, “On The Run”. The track is produced by Yo van Lenz, Kelela, Kaytranada and Bambii, with additional production by Asmara. “On The Run” is a Caribbean-influenced, unconventional dance track that blurs the lines of R&B and atmospheric club music as Kelela flirts with the push and pull dynamics of love. The new single is taken from her upcoming album RAVEN, set to be released February 10th, 2023 via Warp.

RAVEN is the follow up to her critically acclaimed debut album, Take Me Apart, which accelerated Kelela’s ascension into the mainstream. RAVEN is executive produced by Kelela and co-executive produced by Asmara, with all songs written and arranged by Kelela. Kelela’s next chapter, RAVEN, promises a sonically beautiful and lustrous experience. On RAVEN, Kelela emerges from the tides of her higher self’s oceanic orbit to explore autonomy, belonging and self-renewal as healing across the fifteen-track LP.

“I started this process from the feeling of isolation and alienation I’ve always had as a black femme in dance music, despite its black origins. RAVEN is my first breath taken in the dark, an affirmation of black femme perspective in the midst of systemic erasure and the sound of our vulnerability turned to power,” Kelela says about the project.

RAVEN Tracklist:

1. Washed Away

2. Happy Ending

3. Let It Go

4. On the Run

5. Missed Call

6. Closure

7. Contact

8. Fooley

9. Holier

10. Raven

11. Bruises

12. Sorbet

13. Divorce

14. Enough for Love

15. Far Away