feature: mykki blanco introduces new music and collective with dystopian short film, ‘c-ore’

August 18, 2015

Take a look at Mykki Blanco’s new short film, ‘C-ORE’. The film, directed by Jude MC, is a teaser for Blanco’s upcoming release of the same name – a compilation featuring artists from the AFROPUNK Fest alum’s own record label and collective (Dogfood Music Group), who have played an influential role in his artistic and personal life: Yves Tumor, Psychoegyptian, and Violence. The film takes on a dystopian future world, following four vigilantes as they hunt down a “wanted techno-junkie in the middle of developing a new way for users to experience old earth”. In regards to his collective, Blanco states: “We are a group of friends who have created a release that represents a slice of what we’re into, our culture and what we want to show the world. People all over the world are only fed this singular image of “African American Music” and we want to disrupt that. We all come from backgrounds outside of the black American norm, and the world deserves to see our culture as much as anything else.” Watch the film below.

By Alexander Aplerku, AFROPUNK Contributor



‘C-ORE’ Track ListingĀ 

1. Violence – This Is Going To Be Disgusting, Unholy, And Pleasurable
2. Psychoegyptian – Lbcd
3. Mykki Blanco – Coke White, Starlight
4. Yves Tumor – Histrionic I
5. Psychoegyptian – Don’t I Look
6. Yves Tumor – Childish
7. Yves Tumor – Histrionic II
8. Violence – Saturn
9. Yves Tumor – Histrionic III / Skunk of the Earth
10. Mykki Blanco – Paw
11. Violence – Stillborn Song
12. Psychoegyptian – Lullaby (feat. Slum Savage)