true blood vol 4 soundtrack out now with music from alabama shakes, los lobos and more

May 29, 2013

If you’re a fan of the HBO series True Blood, you know that things have gotten weird. Some would argue dramatically and awesomely weird, while others would just say— no. just weird. Regardless, HBO series always are scored with awesome music from breakout artists and legends alike. True Blood Vol. 4 has some really dark and interesting tunes and previously unreleased tracks from the Alabama Shakes, Los Lobos, The Flaming Lips and more! And there are some that are— no. just weird. It’s out now on iTunes and Amazon! Take a look at the track list and listen to some of the songs we’ll give a pass to! 

-Alex Gamlin, Content Editor

1. “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood” – Eric Burdon with Jenny Lewis
2. “Let’s Boot and Rally” – Iggy Pop with Bethany Cosentino
3. “What Makes A Good Man?” – The Heavy
4. “Smokestack Lightnin’” – Howlin’ Wolf
5. “Pocket Change” – Alabama Shakes
6. “Authority Song” – Bosco Delrey
7. “Turn Turn Turn” – My Morning Jacket
8. “Your Face Can Tell The Future” – The Flaming Lips
9. “The Sun” – The Naked And Famous
10. “Undertow” – Warpaint
11. “I Wanna Be Your Man” – Mobley
12. “(She’s A) Wanderer” – Deap Vally
13. “Whatever I Am, You Made Me” – Koko Taylor
14. “We’ll Meet Again” – Los Lobos

Alabama Shakes Pocket Change

There’s also the pretty solid track from The Flaming Lips “Your Face Can Tell The Future”

The whole soundtrack is dark and slightly weird, just like the latest season. There’s also this cover of Nina Simone’s “Please Don’t Let Me be Misunderstood”; I know. And grated, although this song has been unnecessarily covered more times than your grandmother’s couch, here’s another one– featuring Jenny Lewis and The Animals’ Eric Burdon’s.

I don’t know, guys. I was kind of lost this past season of True Blood, and while this soundtrack has some redeemable qualities, is it enough?