AFROPUNK MIXTAPE 002: Black Lives Always Mattered

January 2, 2015

Chants of “Black Lives Matter” envelop the streets, as thousands converge to declare what should be self-evident. But Black lives always mattered. At the same moment that a generation wakes up and discovers the power of its voice, another sleeping giant has woken after 14 years of silence to record what could be the defining album of 2014. From D’Angelo’s Black Messiah to underground acts like Laughing Man’s Be Black Baby, December 2014 has been a month of both continued unrest and growing strength. AFROPUNK’s 2nd mixtape: ‘Black Lives Always Mattered’ features some of the best songs released this month from D’Angelo, We Are Shining, The OBGMs, a classic track from Fishbone, and an exclusive remix of an unreleased J Cole track.


About the artwork:
Dr. Charles Drew | Blood Bank Inventor

(June 3, 1904 – April 1, 1950)
“It’s impossible to determine how many hundreds of thousands of people would have lost their lives without the contributions of African-American inventor Dr. Charles Drew. This physician, researcher, and surgeon revolutionized the understanding of blood plasma – leading to the invention of blood banks.”



1. Intro – Cypher (August 2014, December 2014)
2. J Cole vs Project Black Pantera – Be Free (Remix)
3. Laughing Man – Brilliant Colors
4. D’Angelo – 1000 Deaths
5. Interlude – Spike Lee / Michaela Angela Davis (December 2014)
6. Alice Smith – Shell Shock
7. We Are Shining – Hot Love
8. The OBGMs – Ijuswannaluvuallthetime
9. Kendrick Lamar – Untitled (Live)
10. Interlude – Chuck D (August 2013)
11. De La Soul (feat Chuck D) – The People
12. Girl In A Thunderbolt – Silver Phoenix
13. Interlude – Michaela Angela Davis (December 2014)
14. Charlie Belle – Get To Know
15. Blake Diamond & The Pearls – Black Is Beautiful
16. Fishbone – Riot
17. Project Black Pantera – Execucão na Av 38
18. Young Fathers – Soon Come Soon
19. Interlude – Melissa Harris Perry
20. Hadassa – Lead Balloon
21. Outro – Rip MC